top of page

How is Corona Virus Affecting Pregnant Women & New Mothers?

Updated: Dec 28, 2021





The current pandemic we are facing is causing a lot of uncertainty for most people, with the main concern of contracting the virus, being that it will affect the older generations, as well as those that have challenged immune systems or are too ill to fight against it. The questions that I am asking are; How do pregnant women and new mothers feel about all of this, and with the social distancing rules in effect, how are those with new babies going to feel, or act, when people want to visit their newborn child? Then the question remains, what is even allowed when it comes to visitors with these ever-changing guidelines and enforceable laws?


In this article, the above topics have been explored, taking into account the current regulations that hospitals have put into place surrounding birth and prenatal care. Furthermore, research has been done regarding how parents are feeling, and what boundaries they will be putting in place to protect their precious new additions.


Interviews, as well as a poll, have taken place to gather information, showing the following results:






Women from Australia and the USA have answered this poll.


When I spoke with some mothers earlier today, the common feeling seems to be that most of them are more worried about their new babies contracting the virus, and the implications on their unborn children if they were to catch the virus themselves.


Amia Tavai, 32, is the mother of a three-year-old boy, with another baby on the way.

“I am more worried about catching the virus, as it will not only affect me but my unborn child as well. I have been staying at home and only going to the shops when my husband can't go for me.”


Jade Gavin, 26, is a new mother expecting her first child. “I am concerned about the virus itself and how clever it is in its ability to evolve, and how quickly it is changing. This concerns me due to the fact we have limited research available in regards to how the virus can affect babies. Especially at such a vulnerable time in their life.” “I am taking extra precautions such as using hand sanitizer when doing the groceries, being mindful to not touch my face and changing our clothes and showering as soon as we get home from the supermarket. We live on 50 acres so have been fortunate enough to go for daily walks on the property, and not have to go to places in the public which puts my mind at ease. My husband also has only done absolute necessary trips out of the house for our company and has limited the time he comes into contact with any of the guys, to help protect me.”


Adrienne Green, 28, is the mother of one child already and is expecting her second. “I’m not overly worried about catching the virus, I’m just extra vigilant. I stay home most of the time unless absolutely crucial. For example, I don’t do groceries. My partner does them the week he is home. If I need anything, I could reach out to some friends that would be happy to drop at my door for me. I treat it as though everyone could possibly infect me. I wash my hands and practice good social distancing.


Listen to more on this topic, in our accompanying podcast








When each of the expectant mothers were asked if they were planning a home birth due to the pandemic, they mostly shared the opinion that they wished they could participate in home births due to the worry of being infected whilst in hospital, though, due to a shortage of nurses or being out of the radius of service, they had no other choice but to have a hospital birth.


“Unfortunately we are out of the area for a home birth, although we tried to get them to extend the radius due to the current circumstances. Instead, we are birthing at a Midwifery Group Practice so it is quite small and secluded, with only two birthing suites available. We will be the only ones birthing there at that time and with only two midwives present. Although I am concerned that sick people go to hospital which could potentially expose us to the virus, I am confident in the hospital staff, and their efforts to keep our birthing space peaceful & calm, and honour our birth wishes to the best of their abilities.” Says Jade, 26.


“I can't do a home birth as I'm at high risk, so a hospital birth has to be. Though, I'm more worried about my 3-year-old. If my husband comes with me for the birth and we do catch it or we have to self isolate, then what will happen to my 3-year-old at home? Our birthing plan is if there are cases in the small town that we live in, I will give birth by myself. And if there aren't any cases, my husband will come into the hospital at the last second. That way we will limit the risk to my 3-year-old boy.” Says Amia, 32.



“I am planning a hospital birth. I had my first antenatal appointment today actually. I am worried that I am more isolated than I would like to be. I received a text from Queensland health yesterday a day prior to the Appointment stipulating that no one, including partner and children, are permitted to attend the clinic for any appointments. It was very sad that I had to do that alone without my partner as this is his first baby. I’m concerned that if they have these limitations, will this mean I will have to birth alone? All antenatal classes for example, cancelled. I’m wanting to give birth and be home as soon as possible if I can.”, “I sat there today, in the antenatal suite 1.5 metres apart, where the chairs were placed, with 21 other pregnant mothers. Alone. In this time- when it’s supposed to be a happy, joyous time. I’m feeling alone more now than ever.” Says Adrienne, 28.


When asked if the women will be allowing visitors when their babies arrive, they all seem to believe that social distancing is the way to go.


“I will definitely limit visitors. Only immediate family will be permitted in our home. And they have to have had their whooping cough needles and be able to provide evidence before visiting. It’s a very hard, lovely time for anyone. But the unknown, and bringing a new human into this world is very scary, and surreal.” Says Adrienne


While Amia and Jade have both decided not to have any visitors at all, “Yep no visitors for us... Only my parents as they live on a farm so I know they haven't come into contact with anyone.”, says Amia.


“We have decided to keep to ourselves in isolation when we welcome baby earthside. Although our family and close friends are extremely excited for us, they have respected our choices and understand why we made the difficult decision to put a hold on cuddles.”, says Jade.


Each of the women interviewed are residing in either NSW or QLD.


9 views0 comments
bottom of page